National Advisory Board

  • Ann Bostrom, Co-Chair
    Professor and Associate Dean for Research, Evans School of Public Affairs
    University of Washington
    Ann Bostrom joined the Evans School faculty in 2007. Her research focuses on risk perception, communication, and management; and environmental policy and...
  • John Seely Brown
    Visiting Scholar, University of Southern California and former Chief Scientist, Xerox Corporation and Director of its Palo Alto Research Center (PARC)
    University of Southern California
    John Seely Brown is a visiting scholar and advisor to the Provost at University of Southern California (USC) and the Independent Co-Chairman of the...
  • Craig Calhoun
    President of the Social Science Research Council and Director of the London School of Economics and Political Science
    New York University
    Craig Calhoun has served as the president of the Social Science Research Council (SSRC) since 1999. He also holds the title of University Professor of the...
  • Vicki Colvin
    Professor of Chemistry and Executive Director of the Center for Biological and Environmental Nanotechnology
    Rice University
    Professor Colvin’s research explores how nanoscale particles interact with the environment and living systems. Her research draws on both synthetic...
  • Ruth Schwartz Cowan
    Professor in the History and Sociology of Science Department
    University of Pennsylvania
    Ruth Schwartz Cowan is an historian of science, technology and medicine, with degrees from Barnard College (BA), the University of California at Berkeley...
  • Susan Hackwood
    Executive Director
    California Council on Science and Technology
    Professor Susan Hackwood is currently Executive Director of the California Council on Science and Technology. CCST is a non-profit corporation sponsored...
  • Willie Pearson, Jr
    Chair of History, Technology and Society
    Georgia Institute of Technology
    Willie Pearson, Jr.,  is a professor of sociology at the School of History, Technology, and Society, Georgia Institute of Technology.  Prior to...
  • Robert Westervelt
    Director, Nanoscale Science and Engineering Center (NSEC)
    Harvard University
    Robert Westervelt received his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley in 1977. Following a postdoctoral appointment at Berkeley, he moved to...

Former National Advisory Board

  • Thomas Kalil
    Deputy Director
    White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
      Thomas Kalil is currently serving as the Deputy Director for Policy for the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy and...
  • Julia Moore
    Director of Research for the Pew Health Group
    The Pew Charitable Trusts
    Dr. Moore has over 20 years experience working on the Congressional, public affairs, and public policy aspects of international science, technology, and...