McCray Elected AAAS Fellow

CNS Co-Principal Investigator and IRG 1 leader Patrick McCray has been named a 2011 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Elected by the History and Philosophy of Science Section, he is one of eight UCSB and 539 researchers nationwide  in the current class. McCray joins CNS Director Barbara Harthorn, Co-PI Rich Appelbaum, and Executive Board member Bruce Bimber as Fellows of the prestigious science society.


McCray and the other new members will be recognized for their contributions to science and technology at the Fellows Forum to be held on February 18,  2012 during the AAAS Annual Meeting in Vancouver, Canada. The new Fellows will receive a certificate and a blue and gold rosette as a symbol of their distinguished accomplishments.


The American Association for the Advancement of Science, is an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association. In addition to organizing membership activities, AAAS publishes the journal Science, as well as many scientific newsletters, books and reports, and spearheads programs that raise the bar of understanding for science worldwide.